How do I unlock someone’s “After Death” sections?

If you are seeing lock icons next to certain sections, it means that the Everplanner has marked those sections as only available to you after they pass away. Those sections will remain locked until the person has been reported as deceased and the unlocking process completes.

If you are a Deputy with the responsibility of reporting the Everplanner’s death and starting the unlocking process, you’ll see a link to report the person as deceased from their Everplan page. You should also have received an email explaining the responsibility.

Report_as_deceased.png

Click the Report as Deceased link to initiate the process.

After reporting a death on Everplans, you must wait for a period of time while Everplans attempts to contact the person whose Everplan you are trying to unlock. Everplans will contact them via email with the opportunity to block the unlocking.

The period of time that elapses while Everplans attempts to contact the individual is called the wait time. The wait time is set by the Everplanner for their own security, and can be up to 30 days.

Once the wait time expires, and if the Everplanner has not blocked the unlocking, the “After Death” sections are unlocked. Any Deputies with “After Death” permissions are notified via email, and they will be able to log in and view the recently unlocked sections.

Note: If you don’t see the link to report the individual as deceased, it means that someone else was given the responsibility to report their passing to Everplans and start the unlocking of their “After Death” sections. In this case, you’ll be notified via email when “After Death” sections become available.

Note: Some of our customers have been given access by a financial advisor to a jointly-managed “Household” Everplan which includes information on both spouses. Everplans’ policy is that we do not unlock any “After Death” sections until both members of the Household are reported deceased.

Have more questions? Contact us